Official holidays for 2015

Written by

Friday, 25 July 2014 - Last Updated on July 25, 2014

President Benigno Aquino III signed Proclamation No. 831 declaring regular and special non-working holidays for 2015.

The following dates are special non-working holidays: January 2 (Friday); Chinese New Year Feb. 19 (Thursday); April 4 – Black Saturday; Aug. 21 Ninoy Aquino Day  (Friday); Nov. 1 All Saints Day  (Sunday); Dec. 24 Christmas Eve (Thursday); and New Year’s Eve Dec. 31 (Thursday).

Regular holidays will be on New Year’s Day Jan. 1 (Thursday); Maundy Thursday April 2; Good Friday April 3; Araw ng Kagitingan  April 9 (Thursday); Labor Day May 1 (Friday); Independence Day June 12 (Friday); National Heroes’ Day Aug. 31 (Monday); Bonifacio Day Nov. 30 (Monday); Christmas Day Dec. 25 (Friday) and Rizal Day Dec. 30 (Wednesday).

Aquino said in the Proclamation that it is only fitting to declare Jan.2 and Dec. 24 as additional special non-working days throughout the country “to foster closer family ties and enable our countrymen to observe New Year and Christmas more meaningfully.”

April 4, a Saturday, is also declared as special non-working day. “Black Saturday, falling between Good Friday and Easter Sunday, has been traditionally declared a special non-working day throughout the country because the observance of Holy Week is one of our people’s most cherished traditions and they must be given the full and uninterrupted opportunity to ponder the significance of Holy Week and to properly observe its traditions with religious fervor, without prejudice to public interest.”

Edsa People Power anniversary on February25 (Wednesday) will also be a special holiday for all schools.

Proclamations for the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha shall be issued after their dates have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar.


Anne Doblados (85 Posts)

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>